• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Drawing a New Line: Is There an Obscure Configuration Setting for Default Length/Angle I Can Clear?

New Here ,
Jul 14, 2021 Jul 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to InDesign but not to other Adobe products and document authoring. I have used FrameMaker and AI for over 20 years (plus other desktop publication programs for a lot longer.) I started using InDesign in February, 2021, to create product manuals at my new job (for the record, using InDesign was NOT my choice!) I have been able to come up to speed fairly quickly applying various FrameMaker techniques that fortunately have been included in InDesign.

Before diving into my issue, let me list the technical details of my system.

• Edition: Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
  • Version: 21H1
  • OS build: 19043.1083
  • Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0

Hardware:

• Processor: Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-2133 CPU @ 3.60GHz 3.60 GHz
  • RAM: 16.0 GB (15.7 GB usable)
  • System type: 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

I am using InDesign CC, version 16.3 X.64

Here is my issue:

I have created a set of standard document templates (e.g., standard paragraph and character stlyes, page layouts, etc.,) on which I base all new manuals. I copy the template into a new directory and start any new manual development from there.

I have uncovered a very frustrating "aspect" of these templates that does not manifest itself in any new document created using InDesign's File ► New ► Document menu.

When I draw a new leader line in any document based upon my template, as soon as I release the left mouse button to place the line, regardless of the dragged length/angle, the newly created line automatically snaps to ±45° with a length that is precisely 4.2426 inches.