• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

english + chinese text - chinese appears as glyphs....how to find/replace glyphs with another font

New Here ,
Jul 31, 2020 Jul 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have created a Word doc with English text and Chinese characters using Helvetica CY. I copy and paste this into Indesign and the Chinese text appears as glyphs....I'm working on a huge document and have had to manually change each glyph to a recognisable Chinese font, but there must be a way to find all the pink glyphs and in one go, change them to another Chinese font that makes the Chinese characters re-appear?!!!

Can anyone help me with this? Thanks...I'm a beginner with Indesign.

TOPICS
How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Jul 31, 2020 Jul 31, 2020

A GREP search for <[\x{2E80}-\x{9FBB}]+> will find most CJK chars in Unicode's first plane, allowing you to change the font and apply a character style. Note that this is not complete, missing some full-width punctuation at the far end of the base plane, and it doesn't touch the many thousands of CJK chars. in the 2nd plane.

Good luck,

David

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What happens when you properly choose File > Place instead of Copy and Paste?

~ Jane

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied