Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

EPS and transparency

Community Beginner ,
Sep 08, 2018 Sep 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm an amateur InDesigner. I have downloaded a vector in an EPS file format from Shutterstock.

I want to use it in InDesign, but if I place into Indesign it just appears with the black checkered background. I tried opening import options and I don't get a transparent background option?

Help! Any (simple) advice very welcome.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 10, 2018 Sep 10, 2018

Hi Danny,

to open the EPS in Adobe Illustrator is the only thing that will get the real transparent parts of the vectors in that EPS file.

Why? Because it was made in Illustrator and the original Illustrator code with real transparency is still embedded within the EPS.

You can see the creator from the header of the EPS:

%!PS-Adobe-3.1 EPSF-3.0

%ADO_DSC_Encoding: Windows Cyrillic

%%Title: b5.eps

%%Creator: Adobe Illustrator(R) 17.1

The problem is that we can only assume what RGB profile is meant for colo

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Sep 08, 2018 Sep 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Open it in Illustrator and save it as an .ai file and see if that makes a difference. Also try View>Screen View>High Quality Display and see if that works. Otherwise please upload a screen shot to give us a better idea of what you’re dealing with.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 09, 2018 Sep 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied