Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exporting to PDF makes line weights appear thicker | CAD Plan/Pdf/Indesign/Pdf

New Here ,
Sep 28, 2019 Sep 28, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm an architectural student, currently working on my portfolio. In this portfolio, there are many drawings with specific line weights.

When I export to PDF directly from AutoCAD and view the drawings in Adobe Acrobat, the line weights are properly displayed.

HOWEVER, Here's my problem;
If I place the  AutoCAD-PDFs in an InDesign document and export them again with absolute maximum PDF quality, the line weights are then displayed incorrectly in Acrobat (they all get a lot thicker and a bit messy). The line weight information is not lost though, which can be seen by printing the PDF on paper or zooming in while in Acrobat. This means that the PDF files made by Indesign have a different script for how they are to be viewed on-screen.

Now I know that some of you might say that I need to use the setting "Fix Hairlines" in Adobe Acrobat. Even though that works, I don't want to rely on the assumption that people viewing my work know that they can adjust their own Acrobat settings.

I also don't want to rasterize my drawings as high-resolution images, I would like them to be real vector lines.

My point;

I want the PDF-file created with InDesign to take care of the view settings itself, as the AutoCAD-PDFs do.

Does anyone know how? Thanks.

Originally posted by Wrecka-D 2018.

TOPICS
Performance , Scripting , Sync and storage

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 29, 2019 Sep 29, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I know you don't like that answer, but the one you provided is the best one.