• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Function similar to the Vlookup from Excel?

New Here ,
Feb 07, 2019 Feb 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First off, I apologize if this question has been asked 100 times, but I have scoured the forums and interwebs for quite some time and have been unable to find exactly what I am looking for. Also, I am completely new to InDesign so please be kind.

The quick question:

Is there a feature that would link InDesign to a spreadsheet or comma delimited file to pull in pricing based on an item number?

What I want to do is exactly like how Vlookup works in Excel, define a column of primary keys and do a vertical lookup against a table to grab a value in an adjacent column. I have been researching Data Merge but that doesn't appear to work with a primary key scenario.

Could this be done using a script or VB?

Any direction you can point me in is greatly appreciated.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 08, 2019 Feb 08, 2019

Context is important here, what is being created? Is it as simple as a DL sized pizza menu, or is it more complicated 200pp parts catalogue?

InDesign's Data Merge works akin to Microsoft Word's Mail Merge, albeit with less features, but is good for creating numbered stationery, direct mail or business cards. It isn't what I would use to tackle a project such as a parts catalogue or directory, for those tasks I'd rely on an XML import (the learning curve for doing this in InDesign is VERY steep) o

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer ,
Feb 07, 2019 Feb 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied