Welcome Dialog

Welcome to the Community!

We have a brand new look! Take a tour with us and explore the latest updates on Adobe Support Community.

how do I select the rectangle again?

New Here ,
May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am new to InDesign, and have reviewed the help intro videos.  I have spent 2 hours developing the image I have attached...and now I can't reselect one of the rectangles to edit the text.  When I go to select it, a 'text' cursor appears at the top of the page, for me to 'add text there'.  I have chosen 'deselect all', I'm using Mac osx, and can't find 'ungroup' as an option.  I assume deselect all is the same. however, I simply can't edit the rectangle?  I could draw this on an app in my ipad much quicker, and much more effectively.  What have I missed with this? sorry for maybe what is an easy question, I'm in the don't know what I don't know stage.  any help would be much appreciated.  Christine

Screen Shot 2021-05-22 at 7.26.31 am.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

The object you're trying to select could simply behind another, what you can do with the big rectangle selected in your screen shot is to send it to the back, giving you access to the other smaller frames.

Object menu > Arrange > Send to Back

Regards,

Mike

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It seems you are stacking frames above each other.