• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to export InDesign document with VinaPala fonts to MS Word?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 12, 2023 Mar 12, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I am relatively new to InDesign, could you please help me with the following document export issue?

I have approximately 4000 pages InDesign .indd document which uses Vietnamese VinaPala fonts.

The document shows all Vietnamese fonts correctly on MAC InDesign 2023, but when I try to export the document to HTML, and open in Safari on MAC, or in MS Word (with installed VinaPala fonts) on PC all characters got scrambled, the text does not show proper Vietnamese characters but instead something like "lø lo¬i mæy bay oanh t¬c chi’n"

I have also tried to export on MAC InDesign to XML file, but for some reason the generated XML file is empty ~100 Bytes, obviously it does not show anything after opening on PC in MS Word.

Thank you very much for any suggestion or comments.

Robert. 

How to export InDesign document with VinaPala fonts to MS Word?

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Mar 12, 2023 Mar 12, 2023

The only somewhat reliable path to Word is to export to PDF, then use Acrobat DC to export to Word. It's not perfect.

There may be plugins that do it as well; I lose track.

The key is that all apps must have access to a full font set. Font information does not "export" or paste from one app to another. Both ID and Word should be using the same, or similar Vietnamese fonts with the same glyph set.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Mar 12, 2023 Mar 12, 2023

It all comes down to encoding.