Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to find external x-ref?

New Here ,
Apr 15, 2022 Apr 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,
how can I check which references are internal to the document and which are external (i.e. they link to other documents)?
I am a technical writer, our manuals often reach 200 pages, the references are too many to check them one by one.

Thanks to all

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 18, 2022 Apr 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not sure there is a way to check this.

If you have an example it might make it easier to track down what you're trying to do.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It may happen that some text containing one or more cross-references is copied and pasted from one document to another. Those cross-references, although in a different document, will continue to be linked to the original document (unless the original document is moved or deleted).

If the original document remains in its position and is not deleted, the cross-reference palette does not show the difference between internal and external cross-references.

I hope I explained myself better 🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ah right.

Well I don't have a way of testing this unless I set it up exactly as you have it.

Would it be possible for you to share some example files?

I'm not promising anything, but I would need to see it to see if there is a way.