• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to: Place anchoredObject after found text?

Community Beginner ,
Dec 30, 2022 Dec 30, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to inDesign scripting. I’ve been poring over the discussion boards and help docs and cannot find anything that will help me even get near the answer. Thanks in advance, getting my head around these concepts (and the lack of examples in online resources) have me pulling my hair out. 

I’m working in Visual Studio Code and writing in JavaScript.

I have a Story consisting of headers and related paragraphs. Like flowers and descriptions. (See below.) I also have an array with the flower names and the related imagenames in a folder on my drive.

Generally speaking, how can I…

• Search for the text in the headers 
  • Insert the related image between the header and the paragraphs as an anchored object?

Screen Shot 2022-12-30 at 12.45.00 AM.png Screen Shot 2022-12-30 at 12.51.15 AM.png

I can find the text using findText(), but the insertion point it gives is at the beginning of the text, not the end, and not inclusive of the /r paragraph marker.

How can I say “Yes this insertionPoint, but [headertext.length]+1 later”? Then “add this rect AND a /r character”?

I have managed to add a rect as an anchored object to the (wrong) insertionPoint, and even load, place, and fit the image. That might be OK, if I could figure out how to then move the rect, but I cannot.

How can I say “Take this [anchoredObject rect] and move it [headertext.length]+1 later in the story?”

I can’t imagine that the code will help, because it’s not working, and what I’m looking for is an explanation of how things are supposed to work, generally, but here it is…

var this_flower_name = this_card_data[0];
    var this_flower_image = this_card_data[1];
    var this_file = File(this_flower_image);