Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I cannot for the life of me get linebreaks in an epub

Community Beginner ,
May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HELP! (sorry for bad english)
So i have been trying to export my indesign file to an epub reflowable, and it removes all blank spaces, line breaks and blank lines. I have looked up how to fix it and found a place that told me to use a paragraph style that had "space after" the places where i needed it.. so i did that... and it didnt work.. any other helpful tips? Im not good with indesign, i do not know ANYTHING about HTML or CSS so i feel very very lost. 

TOPICS
EPUB

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , May 06, 2020 May 06, 2020

I made it work. 😄 

But im setting up a book for an author and he finds it very important that there is a line break between the chapter titles and the text. The other authors i have worked with didnt think it was important so i have never had to deal with it before. But now i found a solution that works thanks to people in here and other forums. 🙂 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 20, 2023 Feb 20, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There should be no "double line breaks" — multiple paragraph returns — anywhere in any InDesign layout, nor should there be any double white spaces of any kind. This is fundamental to professional page layout, and absolutely essential for clean, controllable EPUB export.

Soft returns or line breaks should be avoided entirely.

ALL spacing in an InDesign document should be controlled with paragraph styles, and there should be no spot overrides applied. Again, this is essential for EPUB/Kindle export.

╟ Word & InDesign to Kindle & EPUB: a Guide to Pro Results (Amazon) ╢

Votes

Translate

Translate