• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDeisign 17 page deletion issue

Community Beginner ,
Jan 11, 2022 Jan 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’ve been using InDesign for a few years, so I’m not a newby but not an expert. I’m having a strange problem with version 17 on a Mac (Big Sur), which I never had with earlier versions. I’m working on a book that is around 210 pages long. I flowed the text (from a Word doc) into InDesign without any problems, and applied styles, did copyediting, etc. All good. Then I added a few blank pages at the beginning of the document for the front matter–title page, table of contents, dedication, etc. After adding content to these pages, I noticed there were still a few extra blank pages between the front matter and the body of the text. When I tried to delete these pages, the problems started. For example, if I delete the spread on pages 6-7, duplicate pages are added to the beginning and a spread at the very end of the document is deleted. I’ve tried unchecking the “Allow Selected Spread to Reshuffle” option, but it doesn’t fix the problem. Any ideas out there about what’s going on?

Thanks

TOPICS
Bug

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 12, 2022 Jan 12, 2022

Hi @TL99:

Thank you for sharing the file. I just had the chance to take a look. 

Are you trying to remove the content on 6 & 7 from the document? In that situation, highlight the content on both pages with the Type tool and press Backspace or Delete. This will remove the existing content and everything in the document will move up two pages to close the gap.

If I'm misunderstanding the question of course, please clarify. I have your file so it won't take me long to give you an answer.

~B

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advisor ,