• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign Color 400 ppi Images Export Blurry so are Unfit for my Novel's Cover Design

Community Beginner ,
Jul 27, 2021 Jul 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am self-taught with Indesign and Illustrator. Since April 1, 2021, I have been formatting my first novel with Indesign an Illustrator. I am pretty proud of the work I have done so far. I have completed the interiors and cover design. My next step is to export to Amazon KDPSelect.

My book dimensions are 6 X 9. I have created the cover/spine/back cover with color gradients and vector images, and when I export, they are all crisp just like I want. 

However, I have two (only two) high res photos that I downloaded from Unsplash. I used Photoshop save them as 400 ppi images. I would like one on the front cover and one on the back cover (At 2 inch high by 6 inch wide).

There are no preflight errors, but when I export, the photos are blurry! This is extremely disappointing. If I can't get them export at at least 300 ppi I will have to proceed without them.

Please help. 

I have attached the pdf back cover/spine/cover so you can see what I am talking about.

Thank you!

TOPICS
How to , Import and export , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 27, 2021 Jul 27, 2021

What are your Export settings when you created the PDF?

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied