• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign Crashes When Opening indd files (any of my indd files)

New Here ,
Apr 22, 2023 Apr 22, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Community,
I am new to Adobe InDesign. I recently purchased a media company and along with that the previous own provided me with a library of folders for previous issues of one of our magazines. Each issue folder contains an .indd file, a "Links" subfolder containing the images, a Document Fonts folder, and a file named "Instructions.txt."
I recently installed and am running InDesign 18.2.1. I really haven't done anything in it except recently I tried to open some of the .indd files. I have tried opening multiple files, not just one. In every case, it looks like it's going to open and then InDesign simply crashes. This happens if I tried to open the .indd file by double-clicking on it or if I open InDesign and then try to open the file from within the application. Here is the contents of the error report below. I would really appreciate it if someone could let me know what is going on here. Thank you!

Process: Adobe InDesign 2023 [4024]
Path: /Applications/Adobe InDesign 2023/Adobe InDesign 2023.app/Contents/MacOS/Adobe InDesign 2023
Identifier: com.adobe.InDesign
Version: 18.2.1.455 (18210)
Code Type: ARM-64 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [1]
User ID: 501

Date/Time: 2023-04-22 08:36:21.5817 -0400
OS Version: macOS 13.2.1 (22D68)
Report Version: 12
Anonymous UUID: 9ADDACE4-9C43-BF12-754F-2593CE5F71BB

Sleep/Wake UUID: 317DA289-12F8-4355-9B08-F6B50FD666D1

Time Awake Since Boot: 17000 seconds
Time Since Wake: 4154 seconds

System Integrity Protection: enabled

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000000