Exit

InDesign creating overset type for every hard return

Community Beginner ,
Jul 13, 2021 Jul 13, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Version: most current, 16.2.1

System: 2020 iMac, OS Big Sur (latest)

I'm an experienced Illustrator user trying to learn InDesign, and something is going wrong with text importing. Using File --> Place, any document I import creates overset type with every hard return (paragraph break). 

I've tried multiple file types to import (Word, InCopy, Rich Text). I created secondary files that I typed myself to ensure that special characters weren't causing it. Based on another thread, I confirmed that it's not a colum break or other special character causing the overset type - it is any hard return as typed directly from my keyboard. 

I tried importing these same files into Illustrator, with no issues. If I cut the copy from the original documents and paste it into InDesign, it works - the issue occurs when using File --> Place. 

The attached screenshot just shows that paragraph breaks cause overset type, while column breaks don't. Maybe this is a simple newbie issue, but I sure can't figure it out. Thanks in advance for any advice.

1.png

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 13, 2021 Jul 13, 2021

It's best to use InDesign Paragraph (and Character) Styles to format text.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There is a difference between the Enter key on the number pad (column / frame break) and the Enter key on the main keyboard. I'm guessing you're using the former and not the latter.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines