• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign for emailer templates: JPG and PNG exports look compressed

Participant ,
Nov 08, 2022 Nov 08, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'll start out by saying I'm a photographer, not a designer. I've been using InDesign to create marketing emailers, sent out with Constant Contact. I'm starting to add more images and importantly text to the designs and they're looking compressed when exported as JPG or PNG. 

My designs are not complex, basically a vertical template with 4-6 photographs, probably a color block or two, my logo and then some text, which is more in the form of headlines than paragraphs.

First question is probably is InDesign the the best, or a good tool, to be designing emailers with, especially when I'm adding text?

Should I be looking at XD or Express or something else to design my email templates? I'd prefer to design outside of Constant Contact. After talking with them, it sounds like if I'm not using their templates, the best options might be PDF or HTML??

Thoughts and direction appreciated. I have full Adobe subscription, so access to all the tools here.

Thanks!

TOPICS
Import and export , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ID can be a good tool for this kind of design, but having fairly advanced skills on the export and scaling end goes a long ways. That said, it's not really the tool for web/digital work for a number of reasons.

I'd say you're better off working in Photoshop or XD; the biggest limitation of PS is that it's not great at lotsa text, or body text.

╟ Word & InDesign to Kindle & EPUB: a Guide to Pro Results (Amazon) ╢

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines