• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Jpeg created in InDesign not sharp when placed into InDesign (not display performance)

New Here ,
Mar 23, 2022 Mar 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am hoping someone can help, as I am having no luck googling. 

I have created an invite in InDesign, that I want to mail merge in InDesign. So have exported it as a jpeg and used the highest settings. When I open the image and zoom in, it is really sharp. 

I then placed it into InDesign to do the merge, and it's a bit jagged on the text. 

Everything I google tells me to do the display performance - but I alreadu have that on high. 

Can anyone help? I am a beginner, so at a bit of a loss what to do!

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 24, 2022 Mar 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

check the effective resolution PPI value of the placed image in the Links panel under Information.

What number or numbers do you see?

Did you apply any effect to the image or its container frame?

Regards,
Uwe Laubender

( ACP )

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I wrote an article here

https://creativepro.com/high-res-image-look-low-res/

It might help understand.

However, I don't understand why you exported it as JPG?

A PDF would be better and you can place that in InDesign.

Or you can place the InDesign file itself within the document.

And I really don't understand why you're exporting a jpeg first.