Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Margins and Page Numbers Export on opposite sites of the page

New Here ,
Dec 09, 2022 Dec 09, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am working on a side project of laying out a children's book using the latest version of Indesign CC.  I have several years of experience in Newsletters and have never encountered an issue like this before.  The newsletters I worked on were never printed out but were always PDFs on a website.  Alignment was not critical like it is with a book.

So I have two "parent" pages created, A and B.  The A-Parents are used on all pages except for the first page of each chapter.  The B-Parent is used for the first page only.  The margins are as follows: Top = 0.5", Left = 0.5", Right(inside) = 0.625", and Bottom = 0.75".

I have page numbers configured to display on the outside bottom corner of each page, away from the spine.

As you can see, the first page is set up with a simple placeholder for an icon at the top of each page, a separate text box for the Chapter heading, and then a text box for the body text.  The Parent page for the rest of the chapter is formatted as required.  As you scroll through, you'll notice things look great.  However, when the chapter is exported to a PDF, as shown in the last image, the outside margin is on the inside, and the page numbers are reversed.  I added a thin border line to the text boxes to make the margins stand out.

Do you know what might be causing this or how to keep it from happening again?

Thanks,

Chris

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg

TOPICS
How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Dec 10, 2022 Dec 10, 2022

Your page 1 is just showing as a spread beside page 2.

Not what you want.