Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to fit text to cell

New Here ,
Feb 06, 2020 Feb 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am rather new to InDesign scripting.

I have made a script that gets a table and, cell by cell, goes into the text, sees if it overflows and if so decreases the HorizontalScale by 1%, as many times as necessary to fit the text so removing any overset.

It works perfectly ONLY IF there is an alert that stops temporarily the execution.

If I let it go without it, it is not working.

This is my script 

function processTable(table) {
for (i=0; i<table.cells.length; i++)
{
horscale = 100;
while ((table.cells[i].overflows) && (horscale >=50)) {
//alert ("newTextSize: "+horscale); //if I leave this alert it works perfectly, if I take it out it doesn't
table.cells[i].texts[0].horizontalScale = parseFloat(horscale);
horscale = horscale - 1;
}
}
}

If I let it go without the alert (like above it is commented) the horscale gets always to 50, showing that it cannot check if text is overflowing in all steps.
Anyone can help? I would just need to "pause" an instant, I guess, or redraw or refresh or anything that lets InDesign re-check if the text is still overflowing during that iteration.
Thanks in advance
TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 06, 2020 Feb 06, 2020

Add a 'recompose' after your scale operation to give InDesign a chance to update -- http://jongware.mit.edu/idcs6js/pc_Text.html#recompose

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Feb 06, 2020 Feb 06, 2020

Table's parent would be a textframe. So for a non nested table the following should give you the page on which the table lies

app.selection[0].parent.parentPage