Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

selection pointers are not working

New Here ,
Jan 29, 2022 Jan 29, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ADOBE INDD V 17.01

I'm a new user and was working along happily a few weeks ago, now everything I try - I cannot get the selection tools to work. I tried the delete preference files on opening - NADA

Frustrating beyond belief. Not worth the monthly fee, if I cannot even use the program - I'm a writer and finance columnist. 

The only thing to do now is redownload the program. Any suggestions?

TOPICS
Bug , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 29, 2022 Jan 29, 2022

And how much RAM and spare hard disk capacity do you have?

Try resetting the InDesign preferences:

1) Close InDesign
2) Double click on Adobe InDesign's icon to launch it
3) QUICKLY hold down Ctrl+Alt+Shift. (for Windows) or CTL+OPT+CMD+Shift (for Mac OS X)
4) When a dialogue appears, asking you “Delete InDesign Preference Files?” Click Yes.

(If you don't see the question do it again.)

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What version of InDesign? OS?

What do you mean the pointers don't work, exactly? We need real information to be able to help you.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 30, 2022 Jan 30, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for your prompt reply!

Adobe InDesign 17.01, latest version as of Jan 29 2022

Specifically, the selection tool and the direct selection tool just freeze up - no matter how or when I click on them to then highlight target a page, etc. nothing happens.