• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Suitable PC for using INDESIGN, ILLUSTRATOR & PHOTOSHOP

New Here ,
Jul 01, 2021 Jul 01, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a graphic design student and am looking at purchasing a laptop. I will be using Indesign, Illustrator and Photoshop for the duration of my study so it needs to have good processing power, does anyone have any recommendations? Thanks!

TOPICS
How to , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 01, 2021 Jul 01, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What is your budget? That is often the determining factor for any recommendation.

In previous posts, you indicated you're using a Mac. Are you planning to go Mac or Windows with the next computer?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 02, 2021 Jul 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Not only will you need good processing power. 

But RAM is important - minimum of 16gb, but I'd recommend 32gb

For photoshop you'll need a large hard drive as scratch disk space is important

I'd be looking at about a 512gb SSD + an additional 1TB drive (for the scratch disk)

The SSD to install the OS and the Adobe Applications (and other applications)

You'll also need a compatible graphic card.

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cc-gpu-card-faq.html#CardRequirements

You will also probably find that Apple Mac computers are extremely expensive compared to PC. 

If budget is an issue - please let us know

1) your budget

2) where in the world you are 

3) What currency

4) Any other information relating to your course (video editing for example)