• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text formatting in connection with MsExcel file

New Here ,
Feb 22, 2023 Feb 22, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using InDesign CS version 8 for several years.
I created a catalog with several tables containing text in Italian. I would like to be able to change the Italian language to other languages ​​by linking InDesign to a MsExcel file. I followed some advice found on the internet but unfortunately, the created link always modifies the formatting of the text. Can anyone help me with a solution? Can newer versions of InDesign fix this? Thanks for your attention.

TOPICS
How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 28, 2023 Feb 28, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Hi @Roberto_Giussani,

Thank you for reaching out. It sounds like you are trying to use InDesign and MsExcel to create a catalog with tables containing text in different languages, and you want to be able to switch between the languages without changing the formatting of the text. While this is certainly possible, there are a few things to keep in mind.

First, it's important to make sure that the text in the Excel file is properly formatted for use in InDesign. Specifically, you should make sure that the text is formatted using character styles rather than direct formatting. This will help ensure that the text maintains its formatting when imported into InDesign.