• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text quality goes down when apply any effect

Community Beginner ,
Apr 08, 2021 Apr 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, I'm new to InDesign and I can't figure out how to handle this problem. When I apply any effect to an object from the effects panel (ex. Transparency) any other image or text in the same page lose quality (resolution goes down I think...). You can see an example in the screen (Left: no effect/tranparency applied to the rectangle. Right: 50% transparency and texts below look a little more pixelated). Open attachment for better image quality.

Immagine.png

When I export the entire file to a PDF, in Acrobat it looks exactly the same as I said above. When I open the PDF in Chrome, instead, everything is fine and both texts are perfect.

I'm a bit confused...

Already set High Quality Display Performance and each View Setting to High Quality (max).

InDesign v16.1

Acrobat v 21.0

TOPICS
Bug , How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 09, 2021 Apr 09, 2021

There is a rule that, if ANY transparency is used ANYWHERE on a page, then EVERYTHING on the page is converted into the document blend space. Check the document blend space matches the RGB/CMYK definition you are using for your text colour. Converting colour space won't cause pixellation though. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Apr 08, 2021 Apr 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Check you haven't inadvertently applied a stroke (outline) or effect like Glow to the text.

How are you applying the tint to the object – is it like I've done it below from the swatches panel?

Screenshot 2021-04-08 at 14.47.34.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines