Usual rubbish Adobe - Lost work

New Here ,
Sep 02, 2021 Sep 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Adobe, CEO, and entire team

Forget about all extra services you do - just get the bloody basics right. I really just want to tell everyone at adobe - that they are all useless. Which I know isn't true. But when the very basic shyte goes wrong - its infinitely infuritaing.

And before everyone goes on about back up your work please read what happened.

I've been a design a professional for near on 20 years. And I've been using Adobe software for a long time. I was using CS6 until very recently on a pretty old laptop - and despite it being slow at times I don't think I ever lost work (that wasn't my own fault). Yes there were crashes - primarily down to my laptop being slow-ish for certain tasks - but nothing went wrong.

About a year ago, I upgraded and now run the latest everything on the latest macbook.

I worked on a document today. It was saved.

I closed my laptop with the file open - something I've done a gazillion times.

I opened my laptop - I get an Indesign error (file crashed - to recover file click continue).

I did. And then I assumed the file would be fine and I stupidly overwrote the same file - and not Save As.

But when I went through the document - random text boxes throughout the entire document - had all the text removed. Just completely randomly. 

I basically at a loss for words. The file was a simple 40 page document - and when I say simple - I mean literally three text boxes with simple headlines. No imagery / No crazy filters / No graphics. Just text boxes.

And InDesign effin crashes. and looses random effin text boxes - not all the text boxes - but rnadom text boxes throughout the document.

effin useless. 

Anyway I'm sure people will be saying don't overwrite the file you should have done Save as - but does anyone seriously expect random text boxes with text just disappearing into thin air?

TOPICS
Bug, Performance

Views