• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Accessibility Issues in PDF from InDesign

Community Beginner ,
May 09, 2018 May 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have an Indesign document that uses a 3-column, landscape, 8.5x11 page. I am trying to make this document accessible to the visually impaired, but I'm a newbie to InDesign.

I followed all the steps in Adobe InDesign accessibility and my PDF passes the Acrobat Accessibility Checker. But some of the manual checks are turning up issues that need to be fixed.

I don't want to manually fix these every time I update the document, so I need some guidance on a permanent/automatic solution.

Issue #1: The document has a long URL that wraps through three lines. When I look at the URL tags in the PDF, I see that there are three tags, and that the tags display in reverse order (end of the URL, then the middle, then the beginning).

Question: What do I need to do to get the URL in one tag when it comes out of the InDesign Export?

Issue #2: The document has a number of procedures. Our writing standard is that the name of the button you press or click is in bold. If it is a button with an icon, the icon graphic is also displayed.

Example: Press Hold 371848.jpg.  (the image is usually smaller; it has alternate text).

In the PDF, the "Press", "Hold", the graphic with alternate text, and the period are all separate tags. I expected "Press Hold" as one tag. I assume that having it in 2 tags is because the "Hold" is in bold in the text.

Question: What do I need to do to get all the text before the graphic in one tag when it comes out of the InDesign Export?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 10, 2018 May 10, 2018