Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Actual/Effective PPI issue — InDesign isssue

Explorer ,
Jun 24, 2020 Jun 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I'm having an issue with images in InDesign that's causing me a lot of confusion and fustration. I hope that the Adobe community can help me with this in case they have run into this issue before or if this is something new that I need to know about!

So, I am currently working on a banner for my college as a creative designer. I graduated from college in 2018 and got hired to work as a creative designer for a community college. Our sponsors provided us some .NEF/.CR2/.ARW raw images. All of the RAW photos look super clean and not gritty at all. I post process them in Lightroom and export them at 300PPI with a quality of 100% and then I import them into InDesign into the frame of the design that I'm working on. From there I doublecheck the effective and actual ppi using the link tab. The actual PPI tells me that the image is at 300PPI but the effective is either 72PPI or at least 130PPI. Knowing that the effective PPI should ideally be around 250-300 I'm confused as to why the effective PPI is set to 72-130PPI.