• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Applying Paragraph Style then Next Style not Working as Expected via JavaScript

Enthusiast ,
Jul 19, 2021 Jul 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Experts, I Hope you are all fine, I'm trying to apply Paragraph Style then Next Style Automatically Based on Previous Found Style, heres is my code and Screen Shot, the Probelm is everytime excuting the code it only Apply Paragraph Style (AnswerStyle_B) to first Line after QuestionStyle Line and Ignore the rest of Lines, I'm trying to achive this Automatically via Script on all lines So Every line Start with A. will take the Style (AnswerStyle_A) and the Others (B-C-D) will take the Style (AnswerStyle_B) , I'm Still Learning JavaScript and try to figure out some problems , Please Help and Thanks in Advance  :

var doc = app.documents[0];
app.findTextPreferences = null;
app.findTextPreferences.appliedParagraphStyle = "QuestionStyle";
var myResults = app.activeDocument.findText();
for (i=0; i<myResults.length; i++)
myResults[i].parentStory.paragraphs.nextItem(myResults[i].paragraphs[0]).appliedParagraphStyle = app.activeDocument.paragraphStyles.item("AnswersStyle_A").nextStyle;

Apply PS Style then Next Style Automatically.jpg

Best
Mohammad Hasanin
TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jul 19, 2021 Jul 19, 2021

Hi @M.Hasanin you made a good start. I think you may have confused the "nextItem" method of Paragraph with the "nextStyle" property of ParagraphStyle. The latter is just a reference to whatever style is set as the Next Style in that paragraph style, ie. the one that is applied automatically when you type a return while in that style.

Have a look at this code and see if you can make sense of what I've done here: