• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Are add-on stroke styles available?

Explorer ,
Dec 05, 2018 Dec 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would like to apply a nicely decorated frame stroke to a text box that is used as a dedication paragraph (for my wife) in a publication that I revise annually. When I originally created the text box in Quark over 15 years ago I used a nice one in that software, but unfortunately InDesign doesn't ship with or import those design elements, so I went with the "triple line" border at 3 points. Functional but not particularly decorative.

I'm not a good designer and can't really come up with one myself, I just want to add one in from some unknown-at-the-moment source. The stock frame styles in Illustrator aren't particularly nice looking either, but I'd rather it be something that changes size with the text box in InDesign, rather than a placed graphic. Is it possible to use add-in stroke styles, and if so, where could I find some simple yet elegant designs? I only need one.

Please and thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 05, 2018 Dec 05, 2018

There are a few hidden strokes built in, but I don't think these are what you are looking for

https://indesignsecrets.com/easter-egg-stroke-styles.php

Screenshot 2018-12-05 12.19.17.png

You can also make your own variations of the think-thin lines, and add a styled corner for extra effect.

Screenshot 2018-12-05 12.23.55.png

Not as fancy as what Quark had, but maybe it could work for you.

Otherwise, maybe you could find a stock image frame that you could use.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try a Google search on "indesign stroke styles free download"