• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Automated table of contents: inserting spaces between certain lines

Enthusiast ,
Mar 31, 2021 Mar 31, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all! I have created a table of contents for an InDesign document that can automatically be updated. It's very handy! But... my client now wants blank lines in between sections. And I can't for the life of me figure out how to add in those spaces. I've tried everything I can think of. Let me know if you know how to do this! I imagine it's a matter of creating a new style, but I couldn't get it to work. I'm new to this automatic TOC thing, so I probably am just not understanding. Anyway, thanks for any help you can give me. I'm attaching an example of what I'm looking to do. 

example.jpg

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You just have to add a space after on the 4th and the 9th paragraphs. No need to create a different style.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Oh, sorry. I didn't explain this well enough. These reports are several hundred pages long. They are updated a lot and change report to report. So I'd rather have it automated... if at all possible. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A typical table of contents is going to pull in several different paragraph styles: titles, head1s and head2s, for example.

If you have a section title that you are pulling in, add the spacing above value to its TOC style.