Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Batch update multiple TOCs in a book

New Here ,
Aug 29, 2016 Aug 29, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

I have a book with 7 documents each containing their seperate TOC. To open each document everytime, I have done changes to the book, to update each TOC in regards to page number and headers, is quite time consuming.

Therefore, I am looking for a script that could help batch update all of my TOCs in the book.

I am new to InDesign Scripting and I have been searching the forum and www for an answer to my question without results. Hence, I hope there is someone who can help confirm or reject that this is possible through scripting.

Thanks in advance!

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If I search the forum, I find a lot of useful posts … e.g.:

Trouble updating TOC with Javascript

Re: What is the code for updating a table of content?

Re: Update several TOCs in the same doc. …

I’m sure, you will find also some lines, how to loop through all documents in a book and include the above mentioned parts.

Kai

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Kai,

Yes, the listed discussions/scripts do have something to do with updating a TOC or multiple TOCs in a document. However, I am looking for a script that can do this across a book and not just within one document.

So to simplify: does there exists a script to update multiple TOCs across a book?

Thank you in advance!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied