Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

BUG with text frames, master pages and "allow pages to shuffle"

Explorer ,
May 19, 2020 May 19, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

Latest Indesign CC on Windows 10 64bits.

I have a document, with a master page template applied to all pages in the document. There are master text frames inside the master page template, perfectly aligned with the margins on each left, and right page. In my master page template, I have set up the following margins for left pages :

top : 46pt
bottom : 46pt
outside : 56pt
inside : 46pt

And the right pages margins set up as follow :

outside : 46pt

On the left pages, I have a solid holding the current category / section, so I have set a larger outside margin.

Everything looks good and aligned (text boxes are controled by master pages master text frames) until I delete one page for example, which makes every following right page, a left page, and every left page, a right page.

From this point, in my pages, all text boxes are misaligned to the margins set in the master page template. That is to say that from now on, left pages have text boxes which are the size of right pages text boxes, and right pages text boxes have the size of left pages text boxes.

To fix it, I have to select all my pages, and reapply my master page template to update the text boxes to match the master page's master text frames.

Then, the text frames are finally properly aligned to the margins set in the master page template.

I might be doing something wrong (please let me know if this is the case) but I can't figure out an auto fix, and this gets really annoying when you have to fine tune your document, remove some elements, which can makes me delete some pages, which causes this issue.

If I'm not clear enough, let me know 🙂