• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Colors are faded when exporting as PDF (CMYK document)

New Here ,
Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a CMYK document that I'm trying to export for printing (I'm a newbie when it comes to printing). When I export it as a PDF Print the colors are faded. I looked through all the other questions on this board with similar problems, but none of the suggestions have worked. Also, I checked the exported PDF in both Apple Preview and Adobe Acrobat, and the colors look muted in both. Any help would be much appreciated!

TOPICS
How to , Import and export , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You should never create an InDesign document using CMYK images. In fact, there's no longer really any reason to convert images to CMYK. That's old school.

David Blatner has an excellent article about this workflow on indesignsecrets.com:

https://creativepro.com/rgb-workflow-from-photoshop-to-final-pdf/

Here's another excellent article by Claudia McCue:

https://creativepro.com/rgb-vs-cmyk/

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Edward,

what export settings did you use? Try exporting to PDF/X4 (selecting PDF/X4 under Standards).

@Scott Citron 

The OP didn't say anything about images 😉

And I wouldn't be so "harsh" as saying "never".