• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Colours in InDesign

New Here ,
Jun 02, 2021 Jun 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a beginner designer and am still learning about color and printing. I would like to know how InDesign handles spot and process colors: if i have spot, process and rgb swatches on my file, how does a digital printer handle them? Will it convert them to process? Also, it's possible to have either a process or spot color in any mode i'd like. What does this mean and how does this translate to printing?

In my company we have a catalog that we print digitally and export to pdf for online viewing, and i use the same Indesign file for both. Is this the correct way i should be doing this? How does the colors translate on both mediums?

thank you

TOPICS
Import and export , Print , Publish online

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Keep in InDesign images in RGB, vector and text in cmyk, keep spot colors alive.

How spot colors are converted or not is to specify in the ink manager, found in the swatch panel menu.

How colors are converted is handled via color management > Edit > Color settings.

To avoid CMYK-Lab-CMYK convertion set the policy to Keep values.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied