Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Data Merge including images between texts

Community Beginner ,
Jun 29, 2021 Jun 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone!
I am a game designer and I am currently prototyping a board game. I've only just discovered the "Data Merge" option in InDesign and it's pretty handy for iterating and printing cards quickly.
The problem is that I would like to know if it is possible to add some kind of special characters like emojy but personalized. For example, for one of my cards I would have "Win 3 gold coins" and "gold coins" will be just a icon, then in my exel / Gsheet file I would have "Win 3 'gc' ", and 'gc' would refer to an image that would be automatically integrated into the text.

I have seen this solution which seems close to what I am looking for but, I don't really know how to replace the smiley faces with icons that I would have created myself.

https://community.adobe.com/t5/indesign/how-can-you-get-text-including-emojis-into-a-data-merge-docu...

I don't even know if this is possible.

I'm not really shure that's InDesign related but it's seems to be a great place to ask.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Jun 29, 2021 Jun 29, 2021

It's going to be a bit fastidious but at least it's working !

Thanks !

I'll wait if someone have a better option, but if not, i'll tag that as a "correct answer"

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can set up an image field in your data that will pull the images you name directly into an image frame.  

Have the header of the column begin with @ to make this happen.  In Excel, you will have to use '@ to prevent Excel from seeing the @ as part of a formula.  For instance '@image