• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Designing Books With Multiple Master Pages

Aug 08, 2020 Aug 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear all,

I am a book designer. Like any typical book with chapters, the first page of each chapter is different from the subsequent pages. My InDesign template has two different master pages.  My A-Master is designed for the non-first pages and my B-Master, based on A, sets up the layout correctly for the first page. And the template file contains one page with the B-Master correctly assigned to it. The problem is that when I paste or import text into that first page, the automatically generated subsequent pages are automatically assigned as B-Master. Then I have to manually change all the pages after the first page the A-Master. Once I manually change them, everything is in order. Is there not a setting or technique whereby this could be less manual. I also worry that I might forget to manually reassign subsequent pages. Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Warmly,

Jonathan

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 09, 2020 Aug 09, 2020

Not to speak for the first person who answered your question, but a two-page template (to use your example, a B-Master chapter start, followed with an A-Master standard page) really works pretty slick.

Drop your guides on the chapter start if you want to place the copy block differently than the standard page, get your text, line it up against the guides for your page one-chapter start and Shift-click with the Place Gun cursor to fill page one, then fill page two-standard page, then if needed

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 09, 2020 Aug 09, 2020