• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Do I need a gutter bleed for full page illustrations?

Community Beginner ,
Feb 02, 2021 Feb 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, I'm an illustrator compiling a picture book for the first time, using InDesign (for the first time).

I have created my master pages including margins and bleeds. This works fine for full spread illustrations but also need to layout a vignette on one page and a full bleed illustration on the facing page.

Some posts say to ignore the bleed and just crop at the gutter. Is this correct or should i separate the page and give it a bleed edge on the gutter side?

Thanks in advance

Dan

screenshot gutter bleed.jpg

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 02, 2021 Feb 02, 2021

It depends upon how your final piece will be bound. Wire-bound or single-page printed will require gutter bleed; saddle-stitch or perfect-bound will not. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Ultimately, it will depend on the binding method and possibly the page's location in the imposed book.If the page will be trimmed on that edge, as it would in mechanical binding or some 'perfect' binding methods, then you need bleed. If the page will be part of a two-page, printed spread, as it would in saddle-stitching, crop to the gutter.

Votes

Translate

Translate