• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Does anyone have any advice on migrating project files to a new computer/hard drive

New Here ,
Jan 18, 2021 Jan 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a designer using InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator mainly for my work, on a Macbook Pro running Big Sur. The SSD in the laptop is nearly at capacity and I bought an external 1TB SSD to move my things over. 

Essentially, I wanted to keep all my applications saved to the main laptop storage, but move all my project files and assets to the new external drive, and then delete them from the main storage to clear it up.  Is there a way to do this without having to then manually go into each InDesign project and re-link all the placed assets because their file tree is traced back to a different storage device? I'd like to avoid packaging projects up, really I want to just be able to drag all my work folders over to the new drive and continue to use them from that.

If anyone has any experience transferring their data to a new drive/new computer I would be grateful!

TOPICS
How to , Sync and storage

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Open them. Package them to a folder in the external drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Check out Carbon Copy Cloner to create a complete cloned image of your current system SSD.