Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Font missing; TT OTP font-versions appearing, and reinstall font conflict

Community Beginner ,
Feb 17, 2021 Feb 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am utterly confused. 

I have been using Source Sans as my business font for several years.

Suddenly in my character formatting controls (and para styles)I see 2 versions of this font instead of 1: 

• Source Sans Pro (TT)
  • Source Sans Pro (OTP)

On all previous and new documents I get a missing font warning in pre-flight panel for

Source Sans Pro (OTP) Semibold and Source Sans Pro (OTP) Italic  (i.e. some of the family but not all).

The error only goes away if I manually replace it with the "TT" versions of each, in each document.

Before I mess it up even more by attempting to fix this myself, can anyone help me understand why this has happened and what to do about it? 

I have no idea what OTF and TT are and from whence they have come and how to fix it to get back to a simple life...

• I only use this font in Indesign and I've used it to set this up in various document templates with paragraph style groups etc.
  • I have tried reinstalling, but says it can't due to a font conflict.
  • When I look on fonts (fonts.adobe.com), the whole Source Sans family is activated. All are called Source Sans Pro ... .  No reference to TT or OTP there. I have deactivated and reactivated it in fonts.adobe.com but no change.

Many thanks in advance,

Baffled-By-Fonts 

TOPICS
How to , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Feb 19, 2021 Feb 19, 2021

Super useful, thanks.

Since I'm the only one working on these documents, I'm guessing that I must have invoked the Adobe Font Service. Who knew that it was so troublesome? (Well, beside all of you, apparently 🙂 )