• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

GREP Help- multiple words end of paragraph only

Community Beginner ,
Nov 06, 2020 Nov 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to GREP styles in InDesign. I've been searching and studying and can't find an answer to this yet, and I need to solve this for a project. I have a heading that shows readers what page/section they are on using words or phrases separated by pipes. I need to set all the words at the end of the series (after the last pipe) to Light Yellow. So far I can only get it to do this if there's one word, but I need it to set in the case of multiple words (2 or more) as well.  In this example, you can see my problem. The \w+ gets me what I want if there's only one word, but as you can see, if there's more than one word there's no change because the space is not a word character.

location example.png

If I use .+ or .+? it works for multiple words, but since the pipe is included in "any character" it finds everything after the first pipe to the end of the story. I need only what's after the last pipe in the story colored Light Yellow. 

location example 2.png

Any help in solving this would be greatly appreciated. Maybe I'm just going about this all wrong?

Steve

TOPICS
How to , Scripting , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 06, 2020 Nov 06, 2020

Try this:

\|\K[^|]+\r

Capture d’écran, le 2020-11-06 à 12.31.49.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How about the following

\|[^\|]+$

-Manan

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,