Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Having problems with my fixed layout EPUB export

New Here ,
Oct 13, 2020 Oct 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I worked on a book project last month about gamification in digital meetings. The book is bilingual, so I needed to put two languages in the page, left side Turkish, right side English. Almost all pages have shapes on the edges where I wrote the category name on top if it, and we have some pages with illustrations.

I already took an interactive PDF export, but my client asked to have epub as well. I've never worked with EPUB before and after I did some research I learned that I need to do a fixed layout one to keep layouts, illustrations and bilingual flow in place and I already read comments that interactive PDF would do just fine. My client was informed about this but still they wanted some EPUB so here we are.

I did the arrangements with image formats and etc. When I exported, I chose "Based on Document Setup" on spread controls and selected imaged to be exported as PNG. I exported and checked on Calibre and WOW, that didn't look like what I was intented. I also checked the export in online viewers and the problems are:

• Things that I left outside the page layout are still visible. Example
  • Left page is bigger than the right page. Example

Now, the thing is, I checked the exports on an iPad and iPhone usings iBooks and everything is fine.
I checked in on Play Books on my Android phone, and everything is working fine.
But online viewers and Calibre seems off. I got a chance to check it in Macbook tonight, and while in windowed mode everything is as smooth as on iPad, when we went fullscreen it got stuck left pages, you can literally slide it with the mouse to see the rest of the objects that should flow to the left screen. Between the transition of the pages, again you can see rest of the illustrations and objects.