• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

help with sizing artwork for print, set crop marks

Community Beginner ,
Dec 14, 2020 Dec 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to InDesign and working with an existing file. I want to size it for printing and add crop marks. 

The page size is 610x915mm (24x36 inches), the print area is 510x355mm (20x14 inches), 

How can I resize this so that the artwork is 390x270 mm and the crop marks are set at 400x280 mm ?

So the cut size is 400x280 with a 5mm margin?

Thank you, 

Dean

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Dec 14, 2020 Dec 14, 2020

I'm having a strange problem with your file, which is forcing me to change my normal workflow. Normally I would group your artwork and select Edit > Cut. But when I do this with your file I get a PDF error, which states that InDesign failed to export the PDF file. As a workaround, choose File > Export > Adobe PDF (Print). Create a PDF and save it somewhere. Next, create a new document that's 400mm x 280mm. Set your margins to 5mm. On the page, create a graphic frame that's 390mm x 270mm to allow

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You start off with the TPS (Trimmed Page Size) of your InDesign document, to this you add the bleed, normally 3mm, but some printers want more. You export the InDesign document as a PDF (get the spec from your printer, but normally PDF/X-4) in the PDF dialogue you can indicate Use Document Bleed Setting and add Crop Marks.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Dec 15, 2020 Dec 15, 2020