Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Howto add a depenent context menu enty

New Here ,
Jun 10, 2020 Jun 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi folks,
I want to add a context menu entry at runtime to 'Layout Context Menu', depending on the content of a frame. If a specific condition is true, the menu entry should be visible, otherwise not.
I tried by adding a 'beforeDisplay' event listener to the 'Layout Context Menu' and add the menu item, if the condition is true. Is this the suggested way to do this?

How can I find the related frames/rectangles for the concrete context menu to evaluate the condition?
Best reagrds, Berschmi

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Berschmi,

I've never tried beforeDisplay on the context menu, but it's an interesting idea.

If it works and you're able to add a scriptMenuAction, I would think the first step for your beforeDisplay handler would be to look at app.selection. If it has only one item and that item is a textFrame, then you can proceed to examine the contents. 
Bob

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Participant ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If your question is about finding the string key for the context menu you're interested in, take a look at this post:

https://community.adobe.com/t5/indesign/add-script-to-context-menu-on-paragraph-or-character-styles-...