• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I'm fairly new to InDesign. How can I duplicate the kind of background below? (See screenshot).

Community Beginner ,
Nov 03, 2020 Nov 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would appreciate any help I can get.

Screen Shot 2020-11-03 at 8.33.49 PM.png

TOPICS
Feature request , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Enthusiast , Nov 03, 2020 Nov 03, 2020

There are multiple ways to accomplish this. I would suggest the following:
1. Create a swatch of the blue (or whatever color you choose) background color.
2. Create a text frame that extends outside the page margins and set the fill color of the frame to the background swatch.
3. Make sure your text cursor is active in the frame and type the first line of text.
4. Select and copy that line, hit return, paste it on the second line. Delete the first "THANK" so that the lines offset. Adjust the font, s

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Nov 03, 2020 Nov 03, 2020

Three steps, with a few actions between each step:

1. Type your first line of type using the Type Tool, saying Thank You Thank You Thank You until you have enough Thank You(s) to put at least one Thank You past each side of the page. Then get your Arrow/Selection Tool, click on it and use the Edit>Copy menu command, then the Edit>Paste command to create a second line. Move it up to line up the end of the second line's You to align with the end of the closest first line's Thank as shown in the

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Nov 04, 2020 Nov 04, 2020

Actually, you have a great book for learning InDesign. But actually doing design with it is another thing entirely.