• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

In-line anchored object (equation) management.

Enthusiast ,
Sep 17, 2020 Sep 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear all,

I have managed to write equations in MS Word, export to PDF, edit the PDF in Illustrator, exported it as SVG, placed it as an anchored object inline in the InDesign document and then activated the Text Wrap for the object.

As you can see from the video the text that is colliding is brought to the next line but the space (leading?) between the two lines is not increased (as it would in Apple Pages or MS Word). 

How can I achieve that? What do I have to change? Paragraph Style? Something in the Text Wrap?

Also, second question, is there an easier way to insert equations in InDesign that doesn't involve scripting or expensive plugins? I'm still a beginner in InDesign so I do not feel comfortable with scripting.

Thanks 

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What are you trying to accomplish? Do you want extra space in between the two lines of text? That is accomplish by leading and has nothing to do with anchored objects. Just increase the leading.

As far as inserting equations into InDesign, I don't have to do it often, but when I do,  just make them in Illustrator and save it as a PDF or AI file. Many people like MathML. While it seems that SVG is the output format that the Math ML plugin uses, if you're creating the graphics right in Illustrator, you can use other file formats if you like.

To be truthful, InDesign doesn't handle equations as elegantly as users would hope for.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines