• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Inconsistent pasting size from Excel to InDesign

New Here ,
May 04, 2020 May 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ok, so this might be a complicated one (or maybe not?). I've been researching this off and on for several months with no new info. So I'm reaching out to you fellow Adobe users!

My team's workflow consists of copying and pasting charts created in Excel to InDesign (and sometimes Illustrator). We have sizing rules on how we format these charts in Excel prior to copy/paste to InDesign, such as font size, chart width, etc.

You'd think there would be consistent chart sizing among all team members once pasted, but there's not. For 5 of us, we can use the same chart dimensions and font size in Excel and get the same-sized chart result pasted into InDesign. For another person, they have to use the same dimensions, but then scale the chart by 135% after pasting into InDesign to get the same result. And for yet another person, they have to make the chart a bit wider and with a slightly larger font size (but no scaling in ID) to get the same result. It's mind-boggling!

I've checked all the Excel settings and InDesign settings and everything looks the same for all of us. Am I missing something? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! I have a feeling it's something on the Excel side since the same inconsistencies happen when we paste into Illustrator, but I have a feeling if I reached out to the Excel community, nobody would understand what I'm talking about.

More info:

We are all using InDesign version 13.1.1 and Excel 2016. Our InDesign document types are Web intent. We are all running Windows 7 with one person on Windows 8 (yuck, I know, but we have no control over this). 

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines