Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign 2020 Automation (My workflow and questions) - Scripting

New Here ,
Apr 08, 2020 Apr 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello wonderful forum folks,

I have been a long time user of adobe and read much on the forums, however I am new to indesign. My world was previously After Effects and Premier. Due to a number of buisness changes I am now learning scripting for InDesign.

What I have so far.

For the past 20 or so years our organization has been manually copying over schedules from our bus scheduling app into indesign and formatting them all by hand. (Crazy I know)

When I was brought onto the team I kinda looked at it and went Huh? Why?

The Scheduling application has a bulky but wonderful XML output for schedules so what do I do XML import and match to table cells and poof we have auto updatable scheduling. However they want everything in AM and PM with PM times bolded to show they are PM and of course the schedule is in 24hr time. Cool so I learn the basics of GREP and manage to assemble this (1[3-9]|2[0-3]):[0-5][0-9]? for a Search change format and apply a copy of the paragraph format (with bolding added) to all the 12-23:59 times in the table.

From here I then did a number of search and replace scripts individuals for all the 13-23 and made their 12 hour equivalents. 1-11

Enter Scripting, I do know general javascript but I do not know the calls for InDesign or much of the syntax so there is a lot I do not know and generally I modify not design from new. I found the posts by @Kasyan_Servetsky in regards to findchangebylist.txt and began modifying everything into calls from my findchangebylist file.

And came up with this. (please ignore that the code box is for JS there's no option for plain text)

--FindChangeList.txt
--A support file for the InDesign AppleScript FindChangeByList.applescript
--
--This data file is tab-delimited, with carriage returns separating records.
--