• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Indesign & novel for a photographer.

Community Beginner ,
Apr 05, 2020 Apr 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’m a music photographer who after building a horribly large archive, wrote a couple of rock n roll orientated novels, to promote said archive. Novels were written in Word, and laid out in Scrivener.

I now need to get formatting spot on, and a Freelancer formatting hot shot tells me the novel should get laid out in InDesign.

My question: is it relatively easy to get a remote design guy to lay out the novels in InDesign, then use InDesign my end, so I can keep making minor changed – modification to the text?

I would only be amending typos, and making minor grammatical changes as well as the odd clever modification, however, nothing major.

Meaning, I spose, can I cut and paste chapters from  InDesign to Word, then back to InDesign easy enough, or is that a challenge. I’m not trying to use InDesign as an editor, just ascertain how easy it is to make minor changes.
THANKS

TOPICS
EPUB , How to , InCopy workflow , Print , Publish online

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Apr 05, 2020 Apr 05, 2020

You could:

1. Subscribe to (only) InCopy for about $5 US/month and edit the InDesign text directly. Don't subscribe until you are ready to edit. There is a realitively minor cost but the biggest thing would be you learning to edit and format correctly in InCopy.
  2. The freelancer could get EmSoftware's WordsFlow plugin for Indesign; you could continue to do your edits in Word. Downside is the cost but the freelancer can use the plugin with all their clients, so the cost could be spread out.
  3. My last c

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 05, 2020 Apr 05, 2020