• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign Export to "Adobe PDF (Print)" creates file that cannot be opened

Community Beginner ,
Feb 04, 2021 Feb 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using InDesign for maybe 6+ years now and cannot remember this happening before.

This literally worked the other day on the same InDesign file. I exported it like always, then opened it and the file was fine. The next draft I exported however did not work. Now whenever I export the file to "Adobe PDF (Print)" - I get a message saying the file cannot be opened. It tells me I have to print the file to PDF. See image below. pdf erro.png

The problem I have with "Printing to PDF" is that it is making some of my table lines come out more bold than they should be. So in the image below, ALL the lines should be the fainter ones that you see, not the bold. All borders are the same weight in the InDesign file. I have also tried Exporting to "Adobe PDF (Interactive)" but this method makes the images fuzzy in the PDF.

weird lines.png

While I have been using the program for a long time, these export methods have generally worked fine for me, so I have not played around with the export settings much, so I am thinking maybe its an export setting? However I wouldn't know what to fix in this case to get it to work.

I am working from a packaged file that has all the pictures and fonts linked in the "Link" and "Document fonts" files that come with packaging. My Links panel does not show any missing links.

I have updated InDesign to the most current version. I have re-packaged the entire file and the PDF that comes with it is perfect, but I don't want to have to repackage every time I decide I need a new PDF.

Thank you in advance for any input you can provide.

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines