Highlighted

InDesign Photo Resolution Problem

New Here ,
Apr 28, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey All,

I'm new to ID and to designing. I'm experiencing an image resolution problem. I'm placing high res images into indesign, but InDesign is resizing them. Even though my images are all high resolution they all get placed into ID at 72 PPI. I'm using the file > place function like I normally would. It's also not a display quality issue. The issue is that the images are losing resolution when I place them. They're all .jpg files.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by rob day | Adobe Community Professional

If you are saving JPEGs from Photoshop don’t use Export. The Export>Save for Web function does not include resolution metadata, so InDesign places those files with the resolution and output dimensions scaled to 72ppi.

There’s actually no reason or advantage saving in the JPEG format, use Photoshp Format .psd instead.

TOPICS
How to, Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

InDesign Photo Resolution Problem

New Here ,
Apr 28, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey All,

I'm new to ID and to designing. I'm experiencing an image resolution problem. I'm placing high res images into indesign, but InDesign is resizing them. Even though my images are all high resolution they all get placed into ID at 72 PPI. I'm using the file > place function like I normally would. It's also not a display quality issue. The issue is that the images are losing resolution when I place them. They're all .jpg files.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by rob day | Adobe Community Professional

If you are saving JPEGs from Photoshop don’t use Export. The Export>Save for Web function does not include resolution metadata, so InDesign places those files with the resolution and output dimensions scaled to 72ppi.