InDesign running slow. Spinning ball constantly appearing.

Participant ,
May 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ok, I'm having CONSTANT slow drag with InDesign. The spinning beach ball appears while I"m doing almost ANYTHING, even after quitting/re-starting the program, and even re-starting the OS. I'm running High Sierra on Mac, with 40GB of memory, so that shouldn't be the issue, but almost anything I'm doing, I'm getting major lag. Any ideas? This is really ridiculous. Thanks!

Views

45.2K

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

1 Correct Answer

Community Beginner , Jan 19, 2019
Brad_Kumar Community Beginner , Jan 19, 2019
Hi Jeff. I actually did open a ticket with Extensis and a helpful person suggested I temporarily turn off FMCore to see if the problem persisted. Well, I didn't actually turn off the Type Core in preferences, but rather, I turned off the "Enable Document Tracking" option and after that I noticed a SIGNIFICANT improvement to my interruptions… the spinning beach was reduced by I would estimate 80%, so I'm quite happy with the result. Hope this helps some others on this thread. Thanks!

Likes

Translate

Translate
Jump to answer Jump to answer
111 Replies 111
Adobe Employee ,
May 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Scott,

Sorry to hear that.

Please try resetting preferences for InDesign and update application and check if that helps.

Set preferences in Adobe InDesign 

If this does not work, feel free to update this thread so that we can further assist you.

Regards

Twarita

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Participant ,
May 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't really want to reset my preferences as then I'm going to lose all my settings.... InDesign is up to date.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Community Professional ,
May 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I suggest making a copy of your InDesign Preferences file to save, while you trying resetting your Preferences. On the Mac, here's the path:

~Users/homefolder/Library/Preferences/Adobe InDesign

If, after deleting your preferences InDesign is still running slow, simply replace the new Prefs file with the old. No need to restart your computer in between.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
May 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Scott,

I understand your concern. However slow performance is generally a result of corrupt preferences. If you want you can rename the preferences folders instead of deleting them. In this case, you will have old settings saved in old folders and new folders with default settings will be created.

For Windows

Close all Adobe applications.

Go to Locations :

C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\Adobe

C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Adobe.

Rename InDesign folders.

Launch InDesign from CC.

For MAC

Close all Adobe applications.

Go to Locations:

~/Library/Caches

~/Library/Preferences

Rename Adobe InDesign and com.adobe.indesign

Launch InDesign from the CC

Regards

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Participant ,
May 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

IF that is indeed the case - preferences - then how do I get my OLD preferences back to the new ones? I have lots of custom settings and configurations, PLUS, the computer and the suite is not even 2 months old yet!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
May 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Scott,

After renaming the folders launch InDesign from CC, and if that works fine, then the existing preferences were corrupt and you don't need them anymore and you will have to recreate them. If it still does not work we will have to try to reinstall application where we can get old preferences.

Regards,

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Jun 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am having the same issue, I have deleted my preferences (4 times), reinstalled the program (4 times), deleted other programs said to be causing the issue (Font Fusion) and sat with Tech support 4 times and still having the issue. Looking for a real answer to the problem and not the same "Trash the Preferences and it will be better." I'm getting very tired of a small edit taking 20 minutes to make and my business can't afford these delays!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
Jun 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

Sorry for the inconvenience. As you mentioned that you have already tried resetting preferences, reinstalling the application and removing other applications. In case I would suggest you to check how the application works in safe mode:

Safe Mode MAC: Use safe mode to isolate issues with your Mac - Apple Support

Safe Mode Windows: https://support.microsoft.com/en-in/help/12376/windows-10-start-your-pc-in-safe-mode

Regards,

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Participant ,
Sep 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Nothing here really seems to address the issue except trashing preferences. If it IS a corrupt preference file, then when creating new ones, somehow, I'll have to try to remember what all the old ones were. It's like scorched earth policy here. Adobe should have information on how to address this issue besides 'trash the prefences' and lose all that productivity.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Scott,

We are sorry about the inconvenience caused to you. File corruption and spinning ball/slow performance are two different issues.

There are multiple factors both internal and external to InDesign application that can lead to document corruption. However, we can take a look and see if the file can be repaired. If you have any corrupt or damaged file please email it to corrupt_indesign_docs@adobe.com and we will take a look at the document.

Preferences reset is for the initial issue that is slow performance or spinning beach ball which generally happens when preferences are corrupt. Resetting preference is a process of removing corrupt settings and launching the application with default settings.

Regards,

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
New Here ,
Jan 16, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Shristi,

So is it safe to delete the cache and preferences files in Locations?

Thanks

Ryan

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have this issue and been on the phone repeatedly with Adobe. Here are all of the steps Adobe has given me that they say will fix my problem, but have not:

  • Trashed preferences (4 times on 4 different calls)
  • Uninstalled, cleaned and reinstalled the program (3 times on 3 different calls)
  • Turned off Auto-Activation on fonts
  • Removed Suitcase and all of the supporting files
  • Removed Dropbox and all of the supporting files

The only resolutions I have found is if I save the file as an .imdl file and continue working, the drag goes away. I'm not sure why, but have found this works. Hopefully it works for the rest of you, as I have tried other "fixes" people have posted and found them unhelpful.

Been a long time user of these products (working in them over 20 years) and this has been the most frustrating issue. Adobe really needs to solve this one, as I see this issue popping up more and more.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Participant ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Wow, that's a completely ridiculous solution from Adobe. Just trash your computer while you are at it. Scorched Earth solution. Ridiculous. Sounds like they are passing the buck or have No solution. How much productive time did you lose? Crazy.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Scott,

The best solution they came up with was working offline, which was a bit helpful but not practical AT ALL! Hours and days have been lost on this, I'm feeling very frustrated and rather disappointed in Adobe.

Hope my suggestion helps you.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Community Professional ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Curious if this is on a Mac or a PC and what operating system? If you are on the Mac is it with High Sierra?

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It is a Mac running High Sierra (10.13.6)

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Community Professional ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Which version of InDesign?

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Sep 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

2018 v13.1

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
Sep 17, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I completely understand and sorry about this frustration. I understand that today its practically impossible to work offline, but if it is solving the performance issue then there something which should be check by your IT team.

We at Adobe, have very limited support for Network-based Environments because there are so many other things involved with it(Technical support boundaries for virtualized or server-based environments ) but from my personal experience, I would suggest you few things which you must check:

  • Check if this is happening with your user account only or with multiple users
  • Check if there is any antivirus or if there is any endpoint security or if there is any restriction imposed by your IT Team. Due to this sometimes server does not allow the application to save but you are able to save outside the application.
  • This generally happens when network policies or Operating System is updated, check with your IT team for the same.

Regards,

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Oct 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

InDesign CC 2018 is unusable. I downloaded it two days OK. Every was OK. Today it takes 20 min to open a file. Sometimes I can see the open file, sometimes the window disappears.

I dumped my preferences file. Made no difference.

I've wasted an entire morning opening and force quitting and now I'm up against deadline. Please help. I spent six months convincing my employers to upgrade CC.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Most Valuable Participant ,
Oct 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What operating system? What are the system specs? Clean operating system install or inplace upgrades?

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Oct 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Mac OS Sierra 10.12.6

32gb of memory

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Employee ,
Oct 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi William,

Sorry to hear about this. As you have already tried resetting preferences. I would suggest you to please try these steps:

Removing Preferences folders Manually:

Close all Adobe applications.

Go to Locations:

~/Library/Caches

~/Library/Preferences

Delete or rename Adobe InDesign and com.adobe.indesign

Launch InDesign from the CC

If that does not help, check for permission issues: https://indd.adobe.com/view/d6f78247-7e41-4982-b380-68c0d465fd91

If that does not change anything perform a clean uninstall of InDesign: Use the Creative Cloud Cleaner Tool to solve installation problems and then reinstall from CC Learn how to download your Adobe Creative Cloud apps

Please do share your findings.

Regards,

Srishti

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Community Beginner ,
Jul 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Staff answering these complaints probably don't really work with InDesign much -- since they all look very young. All of the 40+ pros on here who truly work across media (Art Directors and Creative Directors who got real jobs) endure Adobe's frustrating applications.

I love saving things to IDML and loading it up on a standalone MacBook Pro Circa 2014 with no internet connection -- and the file launches in 6 seconds and you can scroll through a 120 page magazine in high resolution like you used to.  There is so much Net-mommying going on by Adobe and the font services applications (Extensis you're utter dog-poo), productivity comes to a halt.  To test a real bottleneck, download a large EPS map with font information in the map.  Load it into Indesign -- make it a two page document. And it will take forever just to swap between pages.  Adobe will recommend a PDF instead of EPS. Fine. We all know that PDF remains a total fail as it modifies the object structure upon save making editable text a mess of tangled cross objects and nested groups you never grouped in the first place.  Words no longer selectable... I suggest just sighing and fighting through.  I know for a fact several major publishers manage their print work using OLD versions on non-net managed systems.  And we're talking MAJOR publishers like Condé Nast.  No need to reply. Just wanted to add this to the chatter. There are no answers. Delete Prefs. Really. That is like saying "We don't now what the problem is."  And Adobe knows it.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Reply
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more