• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Inserting text from a SQL Server Database

New Here ,
Mar 26, 2015 Mar 26, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there a way to have a base template document and then import text and or pictures into the document from a SQL Server database?  Or conversely, save the text that was entered into the file into the database?  Thanks, I am new to inDesign and the APIs, any help is appreciated.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Mar 27, 2015 Mar 27, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Straight up, no, there is no way.

There are a few third party plugins to help you do that.

Or you can hack your way by doing something like:

connect to the sql server either by using the Socket object or (better) by calling a outside tool

request the data you need preferably formatted as xml

process the xml and get the stuff you need into indesign.

If you do want to go that second route, please keep me posted on how is it going, as i am too scared even to attempt such a feat.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Participant ,
Mar 29, 2015 Mar 29, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied